The iWAPT 2010 will be held in conjunction with [VECPAR'10] 9th International Meeting; High Performance Computing for Computational Science

Conference Overview

Recent advances in computer architecture and computing systems (such as, multicore processors and hybrid systems with accelerators) have made it very challenging for programmers to reach the performance potential of current systems. In addition, recent advances in numerical algorithms and software optimizations have tremendously increased the number of alternatives for solving a problem, which further complicates the software tuning process. These issues have led researchers to the idea of software systems that can automate the performance tuning process by running a large set of empirical evaluations to configure applications and libraries on the targeted computing platform.

The Fifth international Workshop on Automatic Performance Tuning (iWAPT2010) is an International workshop that provides opportunities for researchers and practitioners in all fields related to automatic performance tuning to exchange ideas and experiences on algorithms, libraries, and applications tuned for recent computing platforms. This workshop will consist of a few invited speaker presentations from leading researchers in academia or industry, and several presentations of peer-reviewed papers that report the latest results in auto-tuning research.

New topic:
Please also consider submitting 2-page position paper on any of the topics mentioned below. For example, a position paper could include your thoughts on future auto-tuning features you consider important, drawbacks of current application tuning techniques or tools, or constructive suggestions how to improve state-of-the-art application tuning methods. These position papers will be reviewed and included in the proceedings.

Topics of Interest

Papers are solicited in following areas of automatic performance tuning including, but not limited to:

Paper Submission Guidelines

Paper format

File format - PDF format
Regular Paper length - maximum 15 pages
Position Paper length - maximum 2 pages
Paper style - Springer LNCS format: Latex templates are available from


Submission site is closed.


All accepted papers (regular and position papers) will be included in the Proceeding of VECPAR'10.

Important Dates

Paper submission due: May 5th 23:59, 2010 (EST) (2 weeks extension!)
April 19th 23:59, 2010 (EST)
Paper acceptance notification: May 14th, 2010
May 7th, 2010
Final paper submission: May 20th, 2010
Workshop: June 22nd, 2010


Registration fee

To join the workshop, you must register for VECPAR'10.
The registration page for VECPAR'10 is opened.
Registration deadline: June 14th, 2010


Program Chair

John Cavazos, University of Delaware, USA

Program Vice-chair

Takahiro Katagiri, The University of Tokyo, Japan

Program Committee

Denis Barthou, University of Versailles, France
Sebastien Donadio, ETI, USA
Victor Eijkhout, Texas Advanced Computing Center, University of Texas, USA
Franz Franchetti, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Domingo Gimenez, Universidad de Murcia, Spain
Osni Marques, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
David Padua, UIUC, USA
Victor Pankratius, University of Karlsruhe - KIT, Germany
Serge G. Petiton, Ecole Universitaire des Ingenieurs de Lille, France
Louis-Noel Pouchet, Ohio State University, USA
Apan Qasem, Texas State University, USA
Takao Sakurai, Hitachi, Japan
Martin Schulz, LLNL, USA
John Shalf, NERSC, USA
Jeremy Siek, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA
Daisuke Takahashi, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Adrian Tate, Cray Inc., USA
Rich Vuduc, Georgia Tech, USA
Yusaku Yamamoto, Kobe University, Japan

Organizing Committee

Jonathan T. Carter, General Chair, NERSC/Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory, USA
John Cavazos, University of Delaware, USA
Shoji Itoh, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Hisayasu Kuroda, Ehime University, Japan
Kengo Nakajima, The University of Tokyo, Japan

Steering Committee

Victor Eijkhout, Texas Advanced Computing Center, University of Texas, USA
Toshiyuki Imamura, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Domingo Jimenez Canovas, University of Murcia, Spain
Takahiro Katagiri, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Ken Naono, Hitachi Ltd., Japan
Markus Puschel, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Reiji Suda, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Richard Vuduc, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
R. Clint Whaley, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Yusaku Yamamoto, Kobe University, Japan