The iWAPT2014 will be held in conjunction with VECPAR 2014.

Conference Overview

The goal of the Ninth International Workshop on Automatic Performance Tuning (iWAPT2014) is to bring together researchers who are investigating automated techniques for constructing and/or adapting algorithms and software for high-performance on modern complex machine architectures.

Topics of Interest

We are particularly interested in autotuning and its relationship to the following topic areas, among others:

Paper Submissions

iWAPT 2014 invites two kinds of contributions: regular papers and previously published papers. Only regular papers will become a part of the formal proceedings, though all papers will be distributed to workshop attendees. The goal of this format is to encourage broad participation in the workshop, both for new work and prior but current work. All accepted papers will be assigned a speaking slot in the workshop's agenda.

Regular papers present new, previously unpublished work. Such papers will undergo the usual peer-review, judged on the criteria of novelty, technical soundness, and writing quality. If accepted, they become part of the official VECPAR proceedings. They will also be included in the post-conference proceedings of VECPAR 2014, which Springer will publish in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Publication is subject to confirmation by the iWAPT program committee that the authors have revised the paper per reviewer comments as needed. Further information about the process will be sent to authors with the notice of acceptance.

Prior papers are those that have already been published but still reflect the authors' current interests. They may also be new surveys of the authors' prior work. Importantly, such papers will be distributed locally to attendees but will not be included in the formal published proceedings. Review of such papers will be lighter, with acceptance determined by availability of time in the program, relevance, and likely significance to workshop attendees.

Paper Submission Guidelines

The camera ready version of papers submitted for presentation in iWAPT 2014 should be limited to 8 pages. The manuscripts must be formatted according to the Rules of the Springer Series Lecture Notes in Computer Science , in particular the styles defined in and

Please do not use any header or footer, running title or author, or the A4paper option.

Submissions must include a title, authors' names, addresses, complete affiliations, e-mail address of all authors, a short abstract (100 words) and a maximum of three topics from the topics list of the conference that you believe best fits your paper.

For submission of a prior paper, please submit the paper reformatted according to the instructions stated above. We will not enforce the strict page limit for prior papers. Please put in the acknowledgement section of the paper the note "republication" and where it was first published. Please put on the submission page as a note in the keywords field "Republication. Originally published: ...".

Accepted submissions will be included in the material to be distributed to the participants of the meeting.

Submission implies the willingness of at least one of the authors to register and present the paper. PostScript and source versions of your paper must be submitted electronically through the paper submission system.

Important Dates

Submission due : Friday, February 7, 2014 (anywhaere on Earth)
Friday, February 21, 2014 (2 weeks extension!)
Friday, February 28, 2014 (1 weeks extension!)
Tuesday, March 4, 2014 (now closed)
Notification of acceptance of papers: Friday, March 21, 2014
Friday, March 28, 2014
Friday, April 11, 2014
Camera ready papers: Friday, April 25, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Friday, May 9, 2014
Author registration:  
Conference sessions: July 1, 2014


To join the workshop, you must register for VECPAR2014. The registration page for VECPAR2014 is open via:


Program Chair

Franz Franchetti, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Program Vice-chair

Yusaku Yamamoto, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan

Program Committee

Siegfried Benkner, University of Vienna, Austria
I-Hin Chung, IBM
Thomas Fahringer, University of Innsbruck Institute, Austria
Takeshi Fukaya, Riken AICS, Japan
Torsten Hoefler, ETH Zurich
Jeremy Johnson, Drexel University, USA
Takahiro Katagiri, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Jakub Kurzak, University of Tennessee, USA
Boyana Norris, University of Oregon, USA
Satoshi Ohshima, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Louis-Noel Pouchet, UCLA, USA
Takao Sakurai, Hitachi Ltd., Japan
Daisuke Takahashi, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Hiroyuki Takizawa, Tohoku University, Japan
Teruo Tanaka, Kogakuin University, Japan
Masahiro Yasugi, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan

Organizing Committee

General Chair: Osni Marques, LBNL, USA
Finance Chair: Toshiyuki Imamura, AICS Riken, Japan
SC liaison: Reiji Suda, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Web Chair: Hisayasu Kuroda, Ehime University, Japan
Publicity Chair: Akihiro Fujii, Kogakuin University, Japan
PC Chair: Franz Franchetti, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Steering Committee

Victor Eijkhout, Texas Advanced Computing Center, University of Texas, USA
Toshiyuki Imamura, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Domingo Jimenez Canovas, University of Murcia, Spain
Takahiro Katagiri, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Ken Naono, Hitachi Ltd., Japan
Osni A. Marques, Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory, USA
Markus Püschel, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Reiji Suda, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Richard Vuduc, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
R. Clint Whaley, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Yusaku Yamamoto, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Jonathan T. Carter, NERSC/Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory, USA
John Cavazos, University of Delaware, USA
Takeshi Iwashita, Hokkaido University, Japan

Financial Supports

JST-CREST, An evolutionary approach to construction of a software development environment for massively-parallel heterogeneous systems


E-mail: iwapt2014 .at. (replace ".at." by "@" in the email address)